How to disable a Facebook account
By Jonatan Littke. Updated 5 years ago. 9,038 unique views.
You don't have to delete your Facebook account; you can disable it. A disabled account won't show up in search results or have a profile available, however, it can be reactivated at a later time to restore the information on it.
- Login to your account at Facebook.
- In the upper right corner, click 'Account' and then 'Account settings'.
- Click 'Deactivate account'.
- Select a reason and check the box 'Opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook'. This means they won't spam you with e-mails about the activity of your friends. Once done, hit 'Deactivate My Account'.
To reenable your account, simply login with your e-mail and password and follow the instructions.
Or delete the Facebook account
You can also remove your Facebook account entirely. Make sure not to log in to the account for two weeks, because only after this period is the account permanently deleted. If you login before the two weeks have passed, your account will be restored.